Thank you for a great year of shows. We are taking a break from performing to focus on recording our next album!

Get The Latest EP NOW!


The Bright Life

Released September 22nd, 2017

Jake Roggenkamp - lead & backup vocals, electric & acoustic guitar, harmonica

Michael Saiewitz - lead electric guitar, lead & backup vocals

Raaj Shah - bass, backup vocals 

Ryan Minieri - drums 

Album art by Michael Saiewitz


Released August 1st, 2015

Jake Roggenkamp - lead vocals, electric & acoustic guitar, harmonica

Michael Saiewitz - lead electric guitar, acoustic guitar, bass, drums, backup vocals 

Raaj Shah - bass, backup vocals 

Evan Rodrigues - drums 

Album art by Bill Holsten


Released April 19th, 2014

Jake Roggenkamp - vocals, electric guitar

Michael Saiewitz - vocals, lead electric guitar

Raaj Shah - bass, backup vocals 

Evan Rodrigues - drums 

Album art by Michael Saiewitz

Special thanks to Adam Saiewitz for recording, mixing, & mastering




DATE & Time




August 13, 2019

Jake and Mike on The Dimestore Jukebox Podcast
Stream/Download at:

Jake and Mike sat down with Kieth from The Dimestore Jukebox to discuss their musical origins, The Break Lights, Ringo, and a whole lot more!

December 14, 2018

Merry Christmas from The Break Lights!
Stream/Download at:
Jake Roggenkamp - Lead Vocals • Acoustic Guitar
Ryan Minieri - Drums • Jingle Bells
Corey Ryzuck - Lead & Rhythm Electric Guitar • Backup Vocals
Juan Alfonso - Bass
Michael Saiewitz - Rhythm Electric Guitar • Backup Vocals

Written by Jake Roggenkamp
Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Michael Saiewitz

Cover Art by Michael Saiewitz

March 7, 2018

Back in October, Jake and Mike went to Relix's office in NYC to record an acoustic session. Special thanks to Brian and the team at Relix! Hear the acoustic version of "The Bright Life" below.

September 22, 2017

Our new EP is out!

Read this great writeup from Pancakes and Whiskey and get The Bright Life EP on Spotify, iTunes, Bandcamp, or wherever you get your music!

August 22, 2017

We are happy to premiere the second single from our new EP with East of 8th.
Listen to "Step Into The Light" now!

July 26, 2017

Our new song "Why Don't You Call Me?" is available on Spotify, iTunes, Amazon, and elsewhere!

July 25, 2017

We've been hard at work on our new EP and it's finally time to share a taste of it. Glide Magazine premiered the first song off "The Bright Life" EP and wrote a great article about us. Check it out and listen to "Why Don't You Call Me?"

July 11, 2017

We did a Q&A for Buzz Artist. The questions were challenging and made us think deeply about the band, especially the one that required us to come up with words to describe each member. Click here to read the full article.

March 22, 2017

NPR Music featured our Tiny Desk Contest video in an article about entries they loved. We are ecstatic to receive such a glowing review and be among a select group of great entries. We had a blast making the video and are already looking forward to next year's contest.

Older Posts


The Break Lights are a five-piece alternative rock band from New Jersey influenced by artists such as The Beatles, Neil Young, Paul Simon, Wilco, Radiohead, and Spoon. Singer-songwriters Michael Saiewitz and Jake Roggenkamp harmoniously blend their unique voices and write interesting songs that range from self-reflective ballads to upbeat rock. The Break Lights perform in intimate venues in New Jersey and New York City. The band has released three self-produced EPs: "Ladies" in 2014, "Knockout" in 2015, and "The Bright Life" in 2017.